Jock Hobbs Memorial National U19 Tournament

Presented by Mitre 10

COVID-19 Update | To help secure the future of the sport, New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Provincial Unions have cancelled the 2020 Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament.

About the Tournament

The Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament returns for a seventh year in 2020, with the support of Mitre 10. The Tournament showcases the best up and coming talent in the country and forms a key talent identification opportunity for the New Zealand Under 20 programme. It has produced a host of players who have earned Provincial Union and Investec Super Rugby contracts, with a number moving on to even higher honours including All Blacks Jack Goodhue, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Rieko Ioane, Jordie Barrett and Asafo Aumua.

Taupo's Owen Delany Park will host the Tournament again in 2020. 400 players from 16 teams will compete across two divisions for the Graham Mourie Cup (premiership) and Sir Michael Jones Trophy (championship). Canterbury and Taranaki go into the tournament as defending champions of the Graham Mourie Cup and Michael Jones Trophy respectively. A selection of matches from the final day of the Tournament will be screened live on Sky Sport. 

Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament fact file:


  • 400 players from 16 teams
  • 14 Provincial Union teams (one from each Mitre 10 Cup Provincial Union)
  • 1 Auckland Development team
  • 1 combined team from the 12 Heartland Championship Unions
  • 3 match days
  • 24 matches (8 per match day)
  • Graham Mourie Cup winners: Canterbury (2019) Bay of Plenty (2018), Auckland (2017), Waikato (2016), Canterbury (2015), Wellington (2014)
  • Sir Michael Jones Trophy winners: Taranaki (2019), Waikato (2018), Counties-Manukau (2015-2017), Southland (2014)