About the Farah Palmer Cup

The history and features of the competition and media information


Key Information

In 2016, the Women’s Provincial Championship was renamed the Farah Palmer Cup in recognition of one of the most iconic figures in women’s rugby.


Farah Palmer is a global women’s rugby icon, having played 35 Test matches for the Black Ferns and represented Otago, Waikato and Manawatu at provincial level. In 2014, Palmer was inducted to the World Rugby Hall of Fame. 


She said it was a huge privilege to have the women’s provincial championship named after her: “It’s very humbling to have the competition named in my honour. I had to have a real think about accepting it because rugby is a team sport and there are lots of women and men who have gone before me that really helped women’s rugby develop. But then I thought it is a great honour and I am happy to be acknowledged this way.”



Auckland Storm, Bay of Plenty Volcanix, Counties Manukau Heat, Canterbury, North Harbour Hibiscus, Northland Kauri, Manawatu Cyclones, Otago Spirit, Taranaki Whio, Waikato, Hawke's Bay Tuis, Tasman Mako and the Wellington Pride.


The inaugural Women's National Provincial Championship was contested in 1999, with 14 teams taking part originally.


In 2000 the number of teams increased to 18. The Championship was contested across divisions - originally a first division and regional divisions, which evolved into two divisions, and continued in this format until 2005. Throughout this time the WPC was played under different guises - the Women's National Provincial Championship, the Lion Foundation Cup, the Women's Championship, and the Women's Competition.



Match Officials

Appointments of Match Officials will be provided regularly throughout the Farah Palmer Cup via media advisory. 


Team Namings

Team announcements Provincial Unions are required to publicly announce their playing 22 at least 48 hours prior to kick off.


Squads are subject to change and the Provincial Union should be contacted in the first instance for the current squad at any time. 


Official results will be distributed in the week following the weekend’s matches.


Judicial Process

Judicial hearings will generally be hold by teleconference early in the week following the match.


Media will be advised of any citings and details of any hearings as they are confirmed. 


Competition Regulations

Download New Zealand Rugby’s domestic competition regulations here


Farah Palmer Cup Squad Information


North Harbour


Counties Manukau


Bay of Plenty 


Hawke's Bay