Hawke’s Bay Tui: PREVIEW 2020

GettyImages 1182000684

Position in 2019

Championship runners-up

Talking points

She’s played 120 matches, she’s the second highest points scorer and by far the most capped player in women’s provincial rugby, but Emma Jensen can’t get enough of the Farah Palmer Cup and is back again for more this year.

Jensen made her NPC debut for Hawke’s Bay 18 years ago, before a stint with Waikato and then onto Auckland where she played most of her professional rugby. She returned to her beloved Hawke’s Bay in 2018 and will be a key player for the Tui this season.

After making her Black Ferns debut last year, young hooker Forne Burkin will captain Hawke’s Bay this year, with former captain’s Hanna Brough and Gemma Woods unavailable this season.

As mentioned in the Manawatū Cyclones preview, this year marks 40 years since the first women’s interprovincial match in New Zealand, which was played between Hawke’s Bay and Manawatū on September 14, 1980 in Palmerston North. The two sides play off for the Attenborough-McBeth Cup each season. The cup is named after the coaches of each team on that day, Rangi and John, respectively. The Tui take on the Cyclones on Saturday 17 October in Napier.

Outgoing players

Hanna Brough, Gemma Woods (unavailable), Liana Mikaele-Tu’u (Auckland), Te Aroha Hunt (unavailable), Chanel Atkins (unavailable), Te Maari McGregor (unavailable)

Player to watch: Cortez Te Pou

Cortez Te Pou had a debut players could only dream of having in the Farah Palmer Cup last year. The 19 year-old scored four tries in her first game for the Hawke’s Bay Tui and she went onto score seven in total across the season. Out of Karamu High School, Te Pou will be looking to build on her seven caps and her seven tries in 2020.

Hawke’s Bay Tui squad

Nicolette Adamson, Denise Aiolupotea, Machaela Baker, Kaitlan Bates, Laurae Blake, Kathleen Brown, Forne Burkin, Krysten Cottrell, Iukika Faavae, Hope Hakopa, Kara Huata, Rebekah Hurae, Tori Iosefo, Niamh Jefferson, Emma Jensen, Harmony Kautai, Lara Kendrick, Holly Macdonald, Patrice Mareikura, Whitley Mareikura, Amber McKenzie, Teagan Meyer, Amelia Pasikala, Moomooga (Ashley) Palu, Nina Pineaha, Jamiee Robin, Jennifer Simati, Cortez Te Pou, Shaylee Tipiwai

Coaches: Blair Cross and Stephen Woods

Hawke’s Bay Tui draw

Otago v Hawke’s Bay

Sunday 13 September

12:30pm, Forsyth Barr Stadium

Wellington v Hawke’s Bay

Saturday 19 September

12:30pm, Hutt Recreational Ground

Hawke’s Bay v Canterbury

Saturday 26 September

4:35pm, McLean Park Napier

Tasman v Hawke’s Bay

Sunday 4 October

12pm, Sports Park Motueka

Hawke’s Bay BYE

Hawke’s Bay v Manawatu

Saturday 17 October

2pm Tremain Field Napier