About the Mitre 10 Cup

The history and features of the competition


In 2011 New Zealand Rugby announced what is the current format of the premier domestic competition in the country – the Mitre 10 Cup.


The Mitre 10 Cup for the last six seasons has consisted of two professional divisions, each consisting of seven teams.


The Premiership is the top division, with the winner being crowned the champion while the lowest ranked team is relegated to the Championship.


The Championship, essentially a second division, plays for the same named title.


All teams play 10 regular season games (five home, five away), followed by the Semi-Finals and Final.


Two Semi-Finals will take place between team’s ranked 1 v 4 and 2 v 3 in the Premiership and Championship respectively. 




In the event that teams are tied at the end of a semifinal or final match, the winner will be determined by the following criteria, which shall be applied in the order in which they appear until a result is determined:


a. The winner following a further ten (10) minutes of extra time each way.
b. The team scoring the most tries in the match (including extra time).
c. The winner of the Round Robin match played that year between the two teams.
d. The team having the higher points difference at the end of the Round Robin.
e. The team that scored the most tries in the Round Robin.
f. The team that scored the most points in the Round Robin.
g. The team with the higher Finals Ranking.


Each province will within this schedule play one double-header week, playing twice in a single round.


All Mitre 10 Cup Premiership/Championship teams play against each other once, as well as four crossover matches against Mitre 10 Cup teams from opposite divisions.


The teams in the Premiership division for 2020 are:


  • Tasman
  • Canterbury
  • North Harbour
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Auckland
  • Waikato
  • Wellington

The teams in the Championship division for 2020 are:


  • Counties Manukau
  • Otago
  • Northland
  • Manawatu
  • Hawke’s Bay
  • Southland
  • Taranaki


All games (including crossover matches) carry full competition points, four for a win, two for a draw as well as the bonus point format.


An explanation of the crossover selection process can be found here.